Unable to load web pages

Windows Vista Discussion in 'Windows' started by scottscott125, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. scottscott125

    scottscott125

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Firstly, apologies if this is an easy fix - I am a computer numpty!

    I have a toshiba portege laptop that runs Windows Vista. I use IE as my browser. Last week, without any warning, IE starting loading certain webpages very very slowly. Quite often they don't load at all and I have to shutdown the browser.

    The webpages I seem to struggle with are stuff like Yahoo mail, BBC news, etc, that are quite graphic heavy. I use a couple of simple webpages for work and these load fine as usual.

    For info I use Avira and Superantispyware.

    Any helpful hints??!!

    Lucy S
     
    scottscott125, Sep 16, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scottscott125

    EvanDavis Silly Fool

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    524
    Have you checked for any sort of malware ? It could quite possibly be that. When last did your computer have a good clean out ?
    Try running something like Ccleaner to get rid of any old browsing history etc, which might be the cause of your browsing slowing down.
     
    EvanDavis, Sep 16, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scottscott125

    scottscott125

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Evan,

    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes I have ran Ccleaner and also scanned it completely. I have reset IE as well. None of these seem to have solved it:(. Any other ideas??

    Lucy S
     
    scottscott125, Sep 16, 2012
    #3
  4. scottscott125

    EvanDavis Silly Fool

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    524

    Open a CMD prompt by typing CMD into "Run " on Vista. Once you have CMD open type " ipconfig /flhusdns " without quotations and hit enter and see if that makes a difference.

    Also you can try a hard reset on your router.

    Finally try using a different browser. Google and Firefox are pretty good.
     
    EvanDavis, Sep 16, 2012
    #4
  5. scottscott125

    scottscott125

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Success! I've downloaded Google chrome and everything is now superquick!

    It was obviously problem with IE (which has been annoying me for various reasons for a while)

    Thankyou so much for your advice.

    Lucy S
     
    scottscott125, Sep 16, 2012
    #5
  6. scottscott125

    EvanDavis Silly Fool

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Likes Received:
    524

    No problem, we are always here to help :D
     
    EvanDavis, Sep 16, 2012
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...