Pondering upgrade

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
After reading about all the recent upgrades at this Forum and elsewhere, and suggesting a system for another forum poster today, I got to thinking about upgrading my own system.

I’ve had the system in my sig since August 2004 and at the time promised myself it would last me at least a year. Well, August’s almost here, so I’m checking things out right now.

I’ve listed my selections below, I would appreciate your comments and suggestions.

The only thing I won’t budge on is the motherboard, I want one of those ;) And I don’t favour Intel, sorry.

I’ve never used Geil memory before, but the specs look good for the price and if Chris Postill says Geil is good stuff, then I gotta believe him, right?

I figure I don’t need a better specced grafix card than the 6600GT, it will certainly handle all games I have at the moment, but I am wondering whether or not it will handle the upcoming Call Of Duty 2 and the Half Life 2 add-on.

And it is an XFX version, comes a little overclocked straight out the box. I was a little put off XFX after two cards made by them had fan failures, both Mucks and I bought an XFX card at the same time and a couple of months later, both fans failed, although XFX say on their site they’ve sorted out the problem now.

I figure I should be able to overclock this system, maybe up to 2.7Ghz, maybe even a little higher.

All components were selected from overclockers.co.uk as an example for pricing. It comes to around £682.00 plus postage, total, inc. VAT. So all I gotta do now is find some more work and earn the money ;)

Again, all views/suggestions/comments will be listened to and considered.

DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard - £140.94

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) – Retail - £246.69

Zalman CNPS7700-CU Ultra-Quiet CPU Cooler – Retail - £33.15

XFX GeForce PCX6600 GT Extreme Gamers Edition 128MB DDR3,