Path/File access error when using VBA editor

G

I've been writing a VBA program for Excel for several months. I've noticed that when I have the visual basic editor open for long periods of time - sometimes while I'm continuously using it, and others just when sitting idle, I'll get an error message "Path/File access error". The error pop-up has the title "Microsoft Visual Basic". I will then not be able to save the file. Eventually it will also tell me that autosave is disabled amongst the flurry of errors. (Fortunately, I can copy/paste the vba from excel to Word and save it there - then restore the file later)

The autosave directory and the directory that I'm editing the file from are both on a local drive, though on different partitions (C, D). IE., I don't think this is due to a remote file system that went away, which is a known problem. (I did install the registry change for that fix just-in-case, but it made no difference with Windows 2000 NOR windows XP.

Also note: I originally was running excel 2002 on Windows 2000 and saw this problem. I have since switched to excel 2003 and windows XP and continue to see the same problem. The hardware is the same in both cases, though the drive, motherboard, and memory were replaced (for different reasons). The machine (IBM T30 laptop) is mostly stable otherwise. The OS(s) were installed from scratch onto a clean drive each time (from an image). Office XP was installed remotely, via an automated script, after Office 2002 was installed. I don't know if it did an upgrade vs. a remove and replace.

Any ideas what's causing this? I'm currently running the latest service packs for XP. Not so sure regarding Office-XP. This was just installed by our IT department..

thanks in advanc
larr

M

Mark E. Philpot

I have the same problem as I am only using 64 mb ram (will
be upgrading soon!). The filepath seems to get lost. I
close the editor then saveAS the excel file eg WAS