Outlook and irrational virus fears

R

Richard

Hello,

Can someone help me with some information?

I have been using Outlook 2000 successfully for two years now.

Recently, It has come to the attention of our IT staff that I have been using this product. The head of our IT staff has unhesitatingly and uncategorically forbid me from using this product as I will probably cause the demise of the building's network due to virus infestation.

His opinion is based on the fact that he has read somewhere that this product is incredibly virus prone.

Now, we receive email viruses here all of the time. We have a firewall, yet they still seem to get through. The subject lines say things like "details", "hi", and things of that nature - I know well enough to not open these.

What is troublesome is that there doesn't seem to be any product on the market which comes close to Outlooks abilities to send HTML messages?

I have read up on this subject and learned that we need to acquire something called a digital signature? If we acquire this - then recipients of an email will know WHO they are getting their email FROM!

What is confusing me is that the bulk of viruses seem to be on INCOMING emails! Is this true? If so, then a firewall seems to be a very practical thing to do yet it doesn't seem to prevent all viruses from getting past the network.

Is there someone who can comment on whether it is OK to use Outlook as a means to send email messages? What are the proper precautions to be taken?

I am sorry, but I like to be knowledgable and I like to sound like I know what I am talking about rather than split hairs over things that MIGHT happen.

Margaret.

G

Gordon

Richard said:
Recently, It has come to the attention of our IT staff that I have been
using this product. The head of our IT staff has unhesitatingly and
uncategorically forbid me >from using this product as I will probably cause
the demise of the building's network due to virus infestation.