New kid in town...HELLLLLP...

Reaction score
I know computers - OFFLINE. But online I'm just learning: Joke.Programs, Adware, Fake Alerts (had THAT one) and Trojans. Whew. Try to find a place that will explain to a dummy like me what they are, how they do it, why they do it, etc.:blush: I got Cyberjacked one night, in a place I 'spose I shouldn't a been, BUT ANYWAY, server started looking different, things were acting weird, "YOUR COMPUTER IS INFECTED - CLICK HERE FOR HELP..." or something like that. Like a dodo I went for it, but only for a moment, site just didn't look right so I got out, went an bought and downloaded eAcceleration and Xoftspy. Are these reputable? Should I have gone with McAfee or Norton? I'd rather uninstall these be out a little dough and get something good than take anymore risks. Opinions are varied so I'm trying to get a general consensus. What-the-f___-ever...I need some advice... Thanks

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
Hi Gerry and Welcome to PC Review
happywave.gif

Firstly eAcceleration and Xoftspy have a dubious past for creating false positives and false alerts to encourage users to pay for the download and in some places certainly were considered spyware/malware in there own right.

It would appear that in the case of eAcceleration anyway that they have gone to lengths to legitimise, however there are many free products out there that will do the job instead.

Your first line of defence is a good Antivirus Suite and Firewall - one of the best free AV's is AntiVir and Zone Alarm for a firewall, for a good paid for All-in-One suite go for Kaspersky Internet security.

Once you've done that, download and run the following free anti-spyware utilities, Ad-Aware, Spybot S&D, SpwareBlaster, Windows Defender - all available via Spywarepoint.

Good luck :thumb:

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
Adywebb said:
Hi Gerry and Welcome to PC Review
happywave.gif