missing GPU and "overclocking failed" after that

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new here, but I'm not a novice.
My problem is as follows:
after longer period of inactivity PC could not find GPU (bios sounds 1 long 3 short beeps).
if I restarting problem repeats. than I remove GPU, clean up contacts with eraser, and then PC starts fine, allmost - bios informs me that the "overckloking failed". When win boots up evething works fine, accept that the performance not adequat to PC parameters (maybe it's just my impretion)
One more thing - my PC works not in case, it's just standing on the table with all connected cables :)

CPU Type Intel[R] core[TM]2, 1866 MHz (3.5 x 533)
Motherboard Name P5B-E ASUS
Motherboard Chipset P965+ICH8R
System Memory 2048 MB
BIOS Type AMI (02/07/07)
Display Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT (256 MB)
Storage Disk Drive ST3250620AS Optical Drive ASUS DRW-1814BLT
Input Keyboard HID Keyboard Device Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Reaction score
COuld be a lot of things mate,

From looking at the CPU setup you have, it seems you are into overclocking, 3.5 on the multiplier, thats a bit low.

Have you killed the graphics card???

If it won't work in the case then there could be a short somewhere.

If it says Overclocking failed, then whatever program you use, Riva Tuner, Ntune is still set enable the overclocking profile you have made at start up.

Go into the BIOS and set default settings, then go into whatever overclocking program you use and set the clocks on the graphics to default as well.

Just a few things to try.

Oh and just out of interest what model Core 2 Duo have you got as 3.5 x 533 is massive.

Reaction score
thanks for fast replay,
at first I'm not overclocking anything, bios is set to default from the beginning.
from my experience I could say that the 8600 geforce is problematic, many of them was defected. so it is very simple to kill :)
and my procesor is: Intel[R] core[TM]2, 6300 1866 MHz

Waynos_Face