installing norton products

Reaction score
Hi there!

Sorry if this seems very basic but I'm not a computer expert!

I have norton system works 2005 and norton firewall 2005 installd on my computer.

I have purchased full not upgrade versions of the 2006 products. The full versions were actually cheaper!

Should I uninstall the 2005 produvts. If yes do I use the remove programs tool in control panel?

Thanks a lot.

Ken

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
Over my dead body ... oh, on your PC, ok.

The 2006 version will up-grade your existing copies of Norton, or should. However, my advice is to uninstall each one AND all its paraphernalia via "add & remove program", like live update, then run CCleaner, then check the HD for remnants left behind and delete them also and run their clean-up tool. Then I'd go and install KAV, err, sorry, I mean that program.

Sorry to sound sarcastic, but I am ... not aimed at you personally I might add, but squarely at Norton's crap ... there are far better FREE products on the market that do a better job with less hassle than sysmantec.

Just an unbias opinion here. ;)

* you would not believe I was a staunch advocate of norton at one time ... would you? *

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
You may sound sarcastic Mucks, but what you say about Norton are correct :thumb:

Junes edition of Computer Shopper tested 12 well known AV products - Kaspersky came top and foiled all the nasties thrown at it, as did Staganos which uses Kasperskys software - Norton failed in several anti-trojan tests and is twice the price, it was even beaten by AVG Free Edition....:rolleyes:

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
oh, I read, a little more fortunate than most in that I have loads of time ... not that I'll believe everything I read though.

I have very strong views, that can change with circumstances. ;)