How to change cursor.


Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
22
Hi my laptop cursor for general surfing etc is fine, but the cursor for typing emails in Thunderbird or for writing a document in Libre Office appears to be a rather cumbersome looking version of what I get normally on my PC. A big 'chunky' version which I hate.
Can anyone tell me how I can change this, to the straightforward simple flashing vertical line I'm used to on my PC?

Biscuitman
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
22
Thanks Evan. Unfortunately my version of Windows 10 doesn't give me the pages as detailed in your link.
The general cursor, small arrow pointing NW, is absolutely fine, it's when you move the cursor into an area where you need to type that the offending large cursor appears. It's similar to the simple flashing vertical line I normally get on my main PC, but it's much bigger, bolder and bulkier. Quite cumberson. My PC and laptop are both Dell so no manufaturer difference either.
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,751
Try Settings > Ease of Access > Text Cursor where you can do various things with the cursor like making it smaller and thinner.
 
Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
22
I don't seem to have anything on there regarding text cursor - I'm baffled.
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,751
Is yours not like this?

Cursor2.JPG


I assumed all Windows 10 settings would be the same.
 
Ad

Advertisements

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,751
Then, when you click on Text Cursor you will get this.

Cursor4.JPG



..... which allow you change the height and thickness of the cursor.
 
Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
22
I was looking on my PC thinking it would be the same as on my laptop.
No my PC doesn't have the Text Cursor option as well as some of the other options and now I've looked at my laptop, neither does that.
It only has Cursor and Pointer and 'Change cursor thickness' is on zero.
Still baffled the cursor's norma in some places and large in others
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,751
I've just noticed that if I single click on Ease of Access I get the section which includes Text Cursor but if I double click on it I get System !!!! This seems very bizarre but that's what has happened. :blush:
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,335
Reaction score
1,751
Just checked on my laptop which is also on Windows 10 and, like you, I find that it is different to my PC. I can change the thickness but not the height of the cursor. It's weird that they are different when they are both on Win10 with the latest updates.

Maybe someone who is more tech savvy can answer this. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
22
Phew! Glad it's not just me. I'll have to put up with it until someone comes up with a bright idea.
I don't like it though. Thanks

Biscuitman
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Windows Vista Frozen cursor. 4
Windows 7 Another cursor problem. 0
Windows Vista Black Screen with a cursor 10
Windows Vista Cursor's sticky double arrow 12
Windows XP Why the mouse cursor is bent 6
Windows XP mouse cursor at logon screen 0
Windows XP Users warned on Windows cursors 1
Windows XP dissapearing cursor in remote desktop connection 0

Top