How often do you run anti-spyware/virus scans?

How often do you run anti-spyware/virus scans?

• At least once a day

Votes: 214 37.9%
  • Around once a week

Votes: 197 34.9%
  • Each month

Votes: 33 5.8%
  • When I remember

Votes: 88 15.6%
  • Never

Votes: 33 5.8%

• Total voters

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I had an interesting idea for a poll from Billybobbbuddy, wondering how often users ran a scheduled anti-spyware or anti-virus scan on their PC. It's one thing having the correct protection installed, but it's no good if it's not used ;)

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
My anti-virus and anti-spyware run all the time my pc is running . Thats in Windows . I'm still learning about linux protection .

happywave.gif

Reaction score
I have two anti-virus, anti-spyware programs that are constantly scanning. Spysweeper and Fix-it Utilities 8 both do a fine job. They work independently but they are also compatible. Between the two of them, It seems like nothing escapes detection with my two programs. Each program prompts me to run a complete scan each week. If either application detects a spy cookie, each of my programs will recommended an immediate scan and will give me the option to let it pass or reject it.

Reaction score
Interesting question. I have a daily scheduled scan but after reading the question I had a look at the scan logs and the scan has not yet completed on any day (I've only had this version, AVG Free 8.0, for 5 days). One of the scans was running for almost 8 hours before stopping (probably when I switched off) and had scanned 1.6 million objects, Is this a normal amount for Windows XP?

Reaction score
I never run them unless i have a problem to be honest.

Tend to have the AV scan everything as things are pulled down from the interweb.

Reaction score