How do you overclock a processor?

Reaction score
Hi i am thinking about overclocking my current processor. anyone know HOW to overclock exactly? sorry i am a noob and i read somewhere that overclocking can increase ur pc performance by a lot. is there like a step by step guide or something?

thx for help guys

Reaction score
im sure a serch on google would return many step by step manuals.
some companies even offer software thats compatible with some mother boards to "softly" overclock your machine.

OVERCLOCKING CAN FAIL YOUR CPU

but its basically a matter or increasing the multplier beyound the chips ability. although it can handle a slight jump, an exccessive multplication of the bus will over work and fry the chip.

Reaction score
ya i know i only want to overclock a very little bit.i only want to overclock a amd x2 4200+ , so it can reach atleast 4600+ levels. when i do search google it comes up with a bunch of tests that people did to compare unoverclocked with OC, i cant find a single step by step intrsuction for amd 4200+
is there a software that can do it for my processor? or cn u teach me how to real quickly?

Reefsmoka

Cookie Monster
Reaction score
If your getting the board you say your getting (Asus A8V) then its just a matter of going into the bios and going to there overclocking feature which is extrememly easy to use, as you have a choise of manual overclock and auto overclock. The auto overclock feature has setting like 2%, 3%, 5%, 8% and 10% overclock, you choose how much you want to go, and hey presto, you've overclocked your comp. But you should only do it in stages, dont take any giant leaps like goign straight into 10%. Also take note of the temprature before the overclocking and after, if the temprature has gone up crazy it wont justify the overclock and over time will just damage the CPU.

Reaction score