help i am a novice lol

Reaction score
When it comes to computer parts and what to do with my computer i get completely confused about every thing!

At the moment i have a pretty old computer(4 or so years now!) and i want to eiver get a new one (more money) or just update the current one i've got....

i found a 'deal' with everything i need (more RAM, faste proccesor and new MOBO) as shown below

Upgrade Kit AMD 64 3500+ (S939), Motherboard, 1024MB DUAL RAM, CPU Fan

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2 GHz Socket 939, 512KB cache, BOXED

Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2 DDR-DIMM 1024MB Kit w/two matched CMX512-3200C2 DIMMs

Abit AV8 Mainboard for S939 KT800PRO,SATA,GbLAN,ATX,Dual-CH DDR

basically i want it to play games to a good and not embarrassing standard lol

I will obviously have to buy a new GFX card and do away with my old 64 one LOL!

and i take it i can hook up my MOBO with all the usb/ethernet/fireports, disk drives ect allready installed.

also if i get new RAM will i have to install XP again and little things like that ??

I will quite like a new case aswell... nothing fancy just for a change as it sits on my desk!

Reaction score
at the moment it is cheaper for me to upgrade so i would rather do that....

is the motherboard AGP or PCI slot??

and what GFX card could you suggest for around £200? (which is useable with the MOBO) state the obvious:p

lol

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
the abit AV8 is AGP and good graphics cards would be a plain old 6800 or a 6600 GT/ultra i'd stick with the 6600 GT or ultra i cant remember which is best but someone will say

Cache-man

Wannabe Webmaster
Reaction score
You will not have to re-install XP if you install new RAM, or even add more RAM to your System.

Reaction score
i THINK i'm taking out the old RAM in and completely replacing it with new sticks....

is xp installed to the RAM then? :S

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score