External hard drives.....

Reaction score
Hello!

I know very little about computers so I've just joined the forum to get some advice from some "experts" ;)

I'm interested in purchasing an external hard drive but I'm not sure what/where the best/bargains are.

I've seen one on Ebay: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=16178&item=5192831186&rd=1

Is this one any good? :confused:

Also (again, remember I'm a novice!) what does "combined Firewire (IEEE1394)" mean??

Thanks in advance!

The Dr!

P.S. Hope this is in the right forum....

Last edited:

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Yup! This is the right forum! Welcome :D

That does actually look like a good deal for an external drive. The combined part just means it can use a USB port or a Firewire port (more common for Digital Video connections).

How much are you intending to store on the external drive, as they range from 40GB up to 300GB.

Reaction score
It seems like a reasonable price, but all they're selling is a basic laptop pc 40Gb hard disk in a small aluminium case. You could by a similar drive and the case seperately from many suppliers. The case usually comes with all the cables you need and instructions. It doesn't need an 'expert' to fit it together - if you can change a fuse in a plug, you should be able to do it quite easily.

If you buy a case that's just for USB (i.e it doesn't include a Firewire socket) then it will be even cheaper.

Of course, all this assumes you don't mind getting the parts and using a screwdriver. I reckon they're charging around £15-20 extra for having done that for you. Still, I don't think they are ripping you off:thumb:

Reaction score
Ian Cunningham said:
Yup! This is the right forum! Welcome :D

That does actually look like a good deal for an external drive. The combined part just means it can use a USB port or a Firewire port (more common for Digital Video connections).