Dropped Laptop :(

Reaction score
My 4yr old dropped my laptop off the counter :eek:

Although it initially powered up again when I took the power cable out to move it the whole thing crashed :mad:

When I tried to switch it back on it wouldnt do anything without the power cable being plugged on & even then it wont let me open windows :confused:

I keep getting a message saying either something about a physical memory dump or that it cant safely open windows :(

can anyone help please ?? :thumb: bearing in mind I am not very technical minded :blush:

thanks ;)

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
You have have damaged some of the battery workings somehow inside the unit, so that physical damage would be quite expensive to repair if you use it mobile.

The physical memory dump error is probably the spinning hard drive inside the unit is somehow damaged and caused a crash. If you have any information on the laptop I suggest you get it off there as quickly as possible.

Unfortunatly, as your laptop is 4 years old it may be more expensive to repair than replace it :(

Reaction score
thanks for the quick reply :thumb:

its my daughter thats 4 not the laptop lol :blush:

the laptop is at most i think 2 yrs old :)

Do you think Id be better off just getting another laptop rather than getting it repaired??

Reaction score
I concurr,

Get your stuff transfered to another drive ASAP

You will need an adaptor for the 2.5 drive to connect to another computer via USB or you can pay to have it done.

Let us knw how u get on!

GL

Reaction score
Beth26W said:
Do you think Id be better off just getting another laptop rather than getting it repaired??

Depends how good it is...

Do you have home insurance that would cover it? Is it still under warranty? If it is and it has no external damage as such then you might get away with sending it back...

Reaction score
christopherpostill said: