Ctrl + function keys not working

G

Hi,

I have had my first Windows XP machine since December. About a month ago
ctrl+F4 stopped working, and I have since worked out that the control key no
longer works with other function keys either . All other key combinations
(ctrl+z, alt+F4, etc) seem to work fine.

I had not recently installed anything, nor had I (intentionally) changed any
Windows settings.

Any help would be appreciated!

John

S

Sharon F

Hi,

I have had my first Windows XP machine since December. About a month ago
ctrl+F4 stopped working, and I have since worked out that the control key no
longer works with other function keys either . All other key combinations
(ctrl+z, alt+F4, etc) seem to work fine.

I had not recently installed anything, nor had I (intentionally) changed any
Windows settings.

Any help would be appreciated!

John

As far as I know, Ctrl+F4 is the only "ctrl+function key" shortcut built in
to Windows. I'm not a programmer but I believe that only programs that
create child windows using a certain model (mdi?) will respect the
shortcut. Other programs will ignore it.

G

Sorry for the late reply - I took ill, and am only now catching up with myself.

Sharon F said:
As far as I know, Ctrl+F4 is the only "ctrl+function key" shortcut built in
to Windows.

This is the only one I know of, too.
I'm not a programmer but I believe that only programs that
create child windows using a certain model (mdi?) will respect the
shortcut. Other programs will ignore it.

Yes, but my problem is that the programs that supported it have stopped
doing so. Some also use Ctrl+F3, which is how I noticed this has stopped
working too.

Nobody seems to have any idea - I think I need to try uninstalling programs
in reverse order until something solves the problem or I gived up and
reinstall XP.

Thanks,

John

D

David Candy

It is not built in to windows. Ctrl + F4 is built in to the app as the recommended keystroke according to UI guidelines.

D

David Candy