capitalising after quotation marks

Reaction score
Since I joined PCReview a couple of days ago I've already been helped to solve a Word problem that's been going on for months. So I thought I'd try to get help with another Word 2007 annoyance.

As a writer I am constantly using quotation/speech marks. How can I get Word to automatically capitalise after a full stop and end quotes. I'm not always watching what's going up on screen so it's very annoying to find I have to backtrack and put in capitals. I've tried manually to add quote marks plus each letter of the alphabet in Options but Word doesn't want to know.

Can anyone else suggest a fix?

Reaction score
If you're talking about a sentence set up like the following, it should capitalize the underlined T automatically after you press space after the word:
"This is a sentence." This is a second sentence.
If that's not happening, it's probably an AutoCorrect option turned off. Does Word automatically capitalize the first letter of sentences normally?

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Reaction score
As a writer I am constantly using quotation/speech marks. How can I get Word to automatically capitalise after a full stop and end quotes. I'm not always watching what's going up on screen so it's very annoying to find I have to backtrack and put in capitals. I've tried manually to add quote marks plus each letter of the alphabet in Options but Word doesn't want to know.

Can anyone else suggest a fix?

When you say "after a full stop and end quotes" I assume that you mean the two of them together and not as two separate instances of failure to get the capital letter.

I've just tried doing what you are trying to do in Word 2007. With a full stop and end quotes (together) I find that the next letter is automatically capitalised as long as there is a space between end quote and the next letter. I assume that after a simple full stop that you get a capital for the next letter.