Avast

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Reaction score
I use Avast as me AV on my laptop, an Asus G73swe. This morning I got a pop up from Avast saying there was an update, so I clicked it and the update started. When it were done it said I needed to restart my machine. So I did so. But then on restart I get POST, then boot scrteen, then logon screen, and once I type my password all I get is a black screen with the cursor.
Windows 7 Ultimate BTW

Reaction score
:( Oh dear sound serious, I am no expert I think I would boot in safe mode with internet connection and get rid of Avast and download Kaspersky free server based scan here is a link www.kaspersky.co.uk/virusscanner and then if and when re download MS Security Essentials direct from Microsoft Web site.

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Reaction score
I ran Trend Micro Housecall and Malwarebytes in Safemode, and no nasties at all, I think I might just bite the bullet and reformat unless anybody else has a suggestion.

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
Win7 can do a repair, even better if you used the excellent backup/restore of Win7 pro & ultimate. :)

If you can get to the desktop, insert the Win7 DVD, if not, Boot to the Win7 DVD

:user:

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Reaction score
Win7 can do a repair, even better if you used the excellent backup/restore of Win7 pro & ultimate. :)

If you can get to the desktop, insert the Win7 DVD, if not, Boot to the Win7 DVD

:user:

Sorted, I stuck me disk in and followed a few prompts and job done. Ta Mucks :D

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Aye, to say this was unusual, and with such a quick remedy, was, uh... not common.

Reaction score
It is the Avast update had the same problem myself> booted from CD/DVD rom and did a repair when finished the avast was disabled by windows> uninstalled avast and installed AVG> PC runing fine now :thumb:

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score