alg.exe Server Program

Discussion in 'Security, Spyware and Viruses' started by Taffycat, Jul 22, 2006.

  1. Taffycat

    Taffycat Crunchy Cat

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    South Wales
    When I tried logging in to Yahoo Messenger tonight, Zone Alarm popped up with this message:

    Server Program
    Application Layer Gateway Service wants to accept connections from the internet.
    Application: alg.exe
    Source IP:217.158.116.17:port 2912

    I denied it, because I don't normally get this message when I connect Y! Messenger, however, it now will not connect. Tried Googling, but found mixed views - some saying it's Microsoft, others hinting at worms so wondered if anyone could advise me please? Thanks :)
     
    Taffycat, Jul 22, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Taffycat

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    LoL ... do you have Windows firewall enabled?

    This program provides optional utilities like the Windows Firewall and ICS (Internet Connection Sharing). If you're not using either one of them then you should not be seeing this program run.

    The alg.exe which is from Microsoft is located at c:\windows\System32\alg.exe . There are NO threats that run as alg to trick you. There are however a LOT of viruses that try their best to take this application out to open you up for other attacks.

    What is your AV program?

    :)
     
    muckshifter, Jul 22, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Taffycat

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Hmmm, just re-read your post


    If a third party firewall warns you that Alg.exe wants to access, check to make sure you're not double firewalled, as I said.

    If you are, disable ICF.

    If you are using neither ICF or ICS and are warned that Alg.exe is trying to access the internet, deny it. A Trojan or worm is trying to use it as a backdoor.

    [​IMG]
     
    muckshifter, Jul 22, 2006
    #3
  4. Taffycat

    Taffycat Crunchy Cat

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    South Wales
    I'm running AVG (Free edition) and the aforementioned Zone Alarm Firewall - (thought I'd disabled the Windows version but on checking, see that it IS enabled.:D This probably happened when I was trying to set up a network recently (for printer sharing.) Funny thing is, it must have been enabled yesterday too, but Y! Messenger connected ok then.... :confused:
     
    Taffycat, Jul 22, 2006
    #4
  5. Taffycat

    Taffycat Crunchy Cat

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    South Wales
    Thank you for the advice - I've disabled Windows Firewall - the ICS was disabled anyway, (only have dial-up at present.) Now when i try to log into Y! Messenger, I don't get the alg-exe message ....... trouble is, I don't actually get Messenger either [​IMG]so I guess it's Yahoo's way of trying to get me to download it's Beta version which it keeps nagging on about, but I keep refusing.... well, cats are stubborn aren't they lol!!;)
     
    Taffycat, Jul 22, 2006
    #5
  6. Taffycat

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Sorry TC but I do not trust any of them IMs ... ;)

    AVG ain't that good with Trojans & Worms, which is what we see these days, I lost favour with AVG.

    Now I'm not trying to persuade you to change but I would give Anti-Vir (free) or KAV (trial & pay for) or even give NOD32 a go. I like the way NOD is going and may 'test' it out.

    There are numerous "on-line" scanners anyway one can get a second opinion from though.

    :thumb:

    Do you not have a router?
     
    muckshifter, Jul 22, 2006
    #6
  7. Taffycat

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    oh heck, dial-up ... ugh!

    :D

    err, time for bed for me. ;)
     
    muckshifter, Jul 22, 2006
    #7
  8. Taffycat

    Taffycat Crunchy Cat

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    South Wales
    No, we don't have a router - we have two laptops with internal modems, but it's rather "Heath Robinson" here at the moment, because we have to take turns to connect them via the dial-up! :blush: At best, that is only ever 45 kbps lol (Hoping to get ADSL before I'm much older though lol)

    Not heard of NOD before - or KAV, so will take a look at them - I used Panda (paid for version) for a few years, but had such a problem with the last renewal, that I eventually cancelled it and ended up with AVG.
     
    Taffycat, Jul 22, 2006
    #8
  9. Taffycat

    Taffycat Crunchy Cat

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    South Wales
    Just a quick up-date ... the Messenger programme is working fine this morning :thumb: seems that it was a general glitch because a friend experienced the same thing. I appreciate the help regarding the alg-exe question though, at least I have learned something about that and a bit more knowledge is always welcome.[​IMG] Thanks again.
     
    Taffycat, Jul 23, 2006
    #9
  10. Taffycat

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    You're welcome ... glad it was just a 'glitch' and nothing more.

    :thumb:
     
    muckshifter, Jul 23, 2006
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...