Unreal Tournament 2004

Reaction score
Benn playing this for a while now. I bought the DVD edition which was a bit of a mistake sicne the DVD's are a bit faulty, but after 3 re-installs it seems to be playing great now.

I still don't think, all things considered, that it beats the orginal UT but it's getting there. The onsluaght mode is very cool indeed, what Halo could well have been.

A tip for imporved loading times that helped my online gaming enjoyment enourmously is to disable skin pre-loading in the options menu, this will also help if your suffering juddering as a result of not enough memory.

Anyone got it yet, got any thoughts, comments or tips? :cool:

Reaction score
This is a pretty sweet game. I might even go so far as to say it's better than the original UT. I might.

Onslaught mode is definitely a lot of fun, though I've found that certain vehicles (i.e. the goliath and the raptor) are far more useful than, say, the mantis. I'm not too good with the scorpion, but it certainly is a LOT of fun to just drive around, even if your team is losing power nodes and you are jumping off bridges.

Where the original game has it beat, though, is among other things the sniper rifle. Am I the only one who thinks the lightening gun is a complete pain to use? I have gotten like one kill with it in many many hours of playing.

I also think that for the incredibly slow loading times, the maps in the original game were as good as the ones in UT:2K4

Reefsmoka

Cookie Monster
Reaction score
I thought the game was excellent when i first got my hands on it. But the more i played it, the less great it got.

I think it would have been much better if you didnt have to team up with AI controlled team mates. They should have done what they did with the first one, and make it so your on your own all the time.

Though the vehicles are fun, I must admit. The guns are great fun too, my fav is the Link gun at the moment.

Alf

Yank Upstart
Reaction score