unable to delete qoobox

Discussion in 'Support' started by Nelli0, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. Nelli0

    Nelli0

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know what Qoobox is but it has magically appeared on my pc. I tried to delete it but got a message saying I had to get the administrator's permission. I am the administrator and nobody else uses this computer so how do I overcome this?
    More importantly should I delete qoobox?
     
    Nelli0, Jul 11, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Have you ever ran Combofix on that PC in the past?
     
    V_R, Jul 11, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Nelli0

    Nelli0

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    To answer your question, no I'd never used Combofix and had never heard of it. I didn't know Combofix and Qoobox were connected until I'd Googled it. I found Combofix and sent it to the recycle bin but Qoobox is adamant that it will stay where it is, dammit.
     
    Nelli0, Jul 11, 2012
    #3
  4. Nelli0

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    1
    Download and install Combofix again. But DON'T run it.
    Once you have done that open RUN from your start button.
    Now type ComboFix /uninstall in the run box and click OK. Note the space between the X and the /uninstall, it needs to be there. Qoobox should now be gone. Re-start your PC and enjoy
    :D
     
    EvanDavis, Jul 11, 2012
    #4
  5. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Good Google skills. :)

    But if combo fix isn't installed....?
     
    V_R, Jul 11, 2012
    #5
  6. Nelli0

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yup, i'm very good at Google. The forum I got the answer from says to re-install Combofix, but not to actually run it
     
    EvanDavis, Jul 11, 2012
    #6
  7. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I know mate, it was a bit tongue in cheek. :)

    Seens thats the best option, i'm just curious how it came to be there if he aint ran CF before.... :/

    Edit: Just re read the OP's second post, properly this time! It all becomes clear. :)
     
    V_R, Jul 11, 2012
    #7
  8. Nelli0

    Nelli0

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I tried. Combofix turned into Webroot something or other and there was nowhere to type uninstall. I've managed to uninstall Webroot but Qoobox remains and gives me the same message as before.

    I also found something called Yontoo which I didn't know about but I have managed to get rid of that.

    What's the next suggestion?
     
    Nelli0, Jul 12, 2012
    #8
  9. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  10. Nelli0

    Nelli0

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Couldn't get very far with the link you sent so I tried to download ComboFix again from a different source. This time it arrived as ComboFix and not Webroot but I couldn't install it because it isn't compatible with 64bit and Win 7.

    Meanwhile Qoobox remains.......
     
    Nelli0, Jul 12, 2012
    #10
  11. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    V_R, Jul 12, 2012
    #11
  12. Nelli0

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    1
    Combofix is compatible with 64bit Windows 7. See image below.

    Use the Combofix site, scroll down to DOWNLOAD and click on it. YOu will be taken to the Combofix download page. Click on Combofix.exe, this will take you to Bleeping computers Combofix how to page. Scroll down to Combofix download link and click on it.This will take you to the download page. Download it and do as I said in my other post. Remember to disable any AV that you have running before you do so. Windows Firewall will be enough to protect you in the mean time. As the Combo fix site says. DO NOT DOWNLOAD FROM ANY SITE OTHER THAN BLEEPING COMPUTERS.
    If you follow those instructions you will be free of Qoobox :cheers:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
    EvanDavis, Jul 12, 2012
    #12
  13. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Which is malware.....

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic294912.html


    I think it maybe a good idea for you to post over at Bleeping Computer and see what they have to say... It sounds like your PC is infected.

    :)
     
    V_R, Jul 12, 2012
    #13
  14. Nelli0

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,524
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    The Qoobox folder is intentionally created and used by ComboFix when running the tool.

    It is not created any other way than this ... you must run ComboFix.

    The folder has a specific and legitimate purpose. When the folder is no longer needed the proper way to remove it is to uninstall the program (ComboFix) which created it.

    Again, uninstalling ComboFix removes the directory along with all other aspects of the program.

    If ComboFix was not removed properly, it is not uncommon that the Qoobox folder may be found months (sometimes years) later remaining on a user's system.

    If you suspect some "nastie" has invaded your system, then PLEASE, go to BleepngComputer, they are very good at helping YOU remove unwanted nasties.

    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Jul 12, 2012
    #14
  15. Nelli0

    Nelli0

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded CF again. And, again, I got the same message. Here's a screenshot:


    Then I tried your CF Uninstall.exe and got this message:
     

    Attached Files:

    Nelli0, Jul 12, 2012
    #15
  16. Nelli0

    V_R @120Hz Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Last try, then i suggest you post on the BC forums...

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic363027.html/page__st__15

     
    V_R, Jul 12, 2012
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Hiawatha

    Unable to reinstall DVD ROM and CD-CW

    Hiawatha, Dec 8, 2003, in forum: Support
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,588
  2. kuldeep
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,336
    kuldeep
    Aug 26, 2004
  3. jparjona
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    490
    tjm4fun
    Oct 9, 2005
  4. someblackguy7130

    how to delete a file that wont let you delete it

    someblackguy7130, Feb 8, 2006, in forum: Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    452
    someblackguy7130
    Feb 11, 2006
  5. Taffycat

    Unable to delete U3 ReadyBoost

    Taffycat, May 16, 2008, in forum: Support
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,209
    Taffycat
    May 18, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page