restricting access

Discussion in 'Internet / ISP / Networking' started by Sharleena, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. Sharleena

    Sharleena

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have a wireless router that our laptops and consoles can all access. I want to be able to restrict access to the consoles and the kids laptops so they're not on them in the middle of the night.

    Please help.
     
    Sharleena, Jul 3, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sharleena

    TriplexDread VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,779
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Where ever I want to be
    TriplexDread, Jul 3, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sharleena

    Sharleena

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much :thumb:
     
    Sharleena, Jul 7, 2012
    #3
  4. Sharleena

    Sharleena

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have looked at the links and they do not apply for my router, it is a w ifi from Sky. :(

    Thanks for the help.

    Does anyone know what I can do now?
     
    Sharleena, Jul 8, 2012
    #4
  5. Sharleena

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    18,504
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Greenwich
    You could just unplug the router before you go to bed each night ;)
     
    floppybootstomp, Jul 8, 2012
    #5
  6. Sharleena

    Sharleena

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I leave stuff to download overnight and the sky anytime updates too.
     
    Sharleena, Jul 9, 2012
    #6
  7. Sharleena

    EvanDavis Silly Fool VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,547
    Likes Received:
    47
    What make and model is the Sky router you are using ? Tat would make a great help. Aldo with the laptops You could use Admin account to create user accounts and set/grant persmisions that will allow or not allow them to certain things :)
     
    EvanDavis, Jul 9, 2012
    #7
  8. Sharleena

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,789
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    The sky router is locked down harder than a.... well. you know i believe.

    However, the standard Anytime stuff doesn't come via the phone line or via the router.. ;)

    I haven't had either of my boxes (1x 1Tb and 1x Sky+HD) connected to the phone line for literally years.

    Only since sky has opened up anytime+ to non Sky BB customers have i connected it.

    The Sky Router is a 'Sky Sagem F@ST2504n'
     
    V_R, Jul 9, 2012
    #8
  9. Sharleena

    Sharleena

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sky were ringing me when the box wasn't connected and demanded it was plugged in as they could tell. I'm not sure what to do now. :(
     
    Sharleena, Jul 9, 2012
    #9
  10. Sharleena

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    10,789
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Yeah I've heard that before, but i have never had either pugged in... Never had a phone call either..... I feel left out. :D
     
    V_R, Jul 9, 2012
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Abarbarian

    Using old router as a DIY wireless Access Point

    Abarbarian, Feb 4, 2009, in forum: Internet / ISP / Networking
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,933
    TriplexDread
    Feb 4, 2009
  2. edembers

    Remote access to router behind router

    edembers, Oct 3, 2010, in forum: Internet / ISP / Networking
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,779
    luhai
    Oct 26, 2010
  3. baraa_998

    remotely access to my hard drive by internet

    baraa_998, Dec 30, 2010, in forum: Internet / ISP / Networking
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    7,736
    baraa_998
    Dec 30, 2010
  4. adlaijames

    Remote Access?

    adlaijames, Sep 8, 2011, in forum: Internet / ISP / Networking
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,035
    Pradami5
    Oct 1, 2011
  5. Olive_Scott

    How do i access back OST file

    Olive_Scott, Apr 17, 2012, in forum: Internet / ISP / Networking
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,075
Loading...

Share This Page