OXC0000017 Application Error Message - Help Please

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by wiggles12, May 13, 2006.

  1. wiggles12

    wiggles12

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently started receiving an OXC0000017 application failed to initialize properly message. Since this is started, my computer gets knocked off line, but according to the ISP, I am still connected. I have had the ISP out to my home 2x to look at the modem. No modem problems.

    This all started right after I tried to load a game for my son at the Disney website. I uninstalled the game, after I couldn't figure out how to help him play it, but my machine has been acting goofy since then.

    The only way to re-establish a net connection is to completely restart my system. I've never had a problem prior to this.

    I have a Gateway laptop with DSL service from RR. I have IE 6.0 and XP. I don't keep a ton of junk on our machine and prior to this problem it screamed through the net.

    Please any advice or assistance would be GREATLY appreciated.

    Kim
     
    wiggles12, May 13, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. wiggles12

    muckshifter Captain Crunchie, Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    22,689
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Is that the error message in full?

    This is NOT an upgrade from an earler OS?

    You do not have Aventail Connect, do you?


    Download CCleaner, be careful NOT to install the Yahoo Toolbar, just un-tick the box for it ... CCleaner can clear the crap left behind after a bad uninstall.

    let me know. :thumb:
     
    muckshifter, May 13, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. wiggles12

    wiggles12

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK,


    I ran all options within CCleaner - Cool program! Unfortunately, I am stilling having the "boot off" problem.

    All systems seem to be working fine, except whatever is causing the kick off the net issue. Turning the modem off by its self will not fix the problem, I have to completely restart my computer.

    Any additional thoughts?

    PS - I do not have Aventail - not even sure what it is.

    Kim
     
    wiggles12, May 13, 2006
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. leetay2
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    315
    leetay2
    Oct 1, 2005
  2. Jap Imports
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    411
    muckshifter
    Dec 9, 2005
  3. jch123ut
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    352
    jch123ut
    Mar 20, 2006
  4. ouverz
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    3,391
    guest_9323wk
    Mar 31, 2008
  5. Tag_SW1TCH
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,305
    itsme
    Apr 11, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page