Next upgrade

Reaction score
Hi all, i just upgraded my 2000xp to a 3.0Eghz pentium based computer. I have never built or used a pentium system before but my first impressions are hot and noisy. Upon inspection my processor is running cooler than mu old one hoowever the board is hotter and it just well.. feels physically hotter (mainly the air inside the case. The only fan i have is the one on the processor and psu( bad idea?).

Anyway whats the next upgrade path 4 me?
around £100 - 125
water cooling (more quiet, less heat?)
my ram is pathetic 256mb of pc 2100, i cud get 1 gig of 3200
or a 9800 pro

Reefsmoka

Cookie Monster
Reaction score
Well you dont need to go water cooling to keep the temprature down and the noise level down, you could get a Thermalrite SP-94 heatsink, a bargain at £25, paired with a silent fan. That will keep the processor nice and cool. Then you could get a couple of those cheapy LED extractor fans, have them sucking air from the front and blowing out the back. That will keep your comp cool on the inside.

All that should be under £50 , now you got loads of dough left to buy better memory ;).

Reaction score
Radeon 9800pro £119.99 Delivered

or

1 Gb (2x 512Mb for Dual Channeling) Corsair PC3200 is £109.00 inc VAT

You don't say what temperature your CPU is at... You shouldn't be worried unless it goes above about 62 degrees C.

Reaction score
My cpu runs at 43 celcius.. which is 9 cooler than my 2000xp lol. I recon ill get £15 worth of extracting fans.. the air is way to hot and 1gig of ram , Cheers guys:):D :cool:

Reaction score
i wouldnt even bother with that!!

get a couple of 80mm case fans (2.64 each inc VAT, AKASA LED ones) and have them blowing the hot air out.

You would probably get the best performance out of 512Mb RAM and a 9800pro - i see in your sig you want to play games...