Windows XP my burner cant read dvd.

Reaction score
Hi,
As this is my first attempt ever to contact a forum please excuse any mistakes I make. I have a very limited knowledge of computers so I will probably not explain myself very well. The problem is when I put a blank DVD into the cd drive I get a message "D: is not accessible". I have tried different brands of DVD with the same result. In the past I have had no problem in burning DVD'S.I can play dvd's and cd's. I am using Microsoft xp and the burner is a Nec DVD RW ND-25/0A.
Any help would be much appreciated.
regards,
dumba.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Assuming your drive is capable of burning DVD's I'd say either it's faulty or the drive doesn't like the media you're using.

Try a different make of blank DVD (Verbatim are good) and if you get the same message replace the burner.

Reaction score
Windows XP doesn't natively support DVD writing.
You need to use additional software i.e InCD or in your case InDVD, Roxio DVD Creator etc.
I bet you would be able to make a DVD via this software if you have it installed.
Also I think that you may be mistaken and have created CD's the way you described in the past.
However, Vista does support this method of DVD creation.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Aha. As dumba mentioned he'd previously burnt DVD's without any problems I assumed his machine had suitable software.

I'm also assuming all information given is correct ;)

Reaction score
Wait a moment....
Title = my burner cant read dvd.
says he puts blanks in it :p
As blank discs have no file allocation table the drive will report as inaccessable !!!

.... and no offense flopps but we have this type of post monthly.... the user is addiment that they do it right, everytime it has been due to user error.
No offense dumba

Last edited:

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
... in my case it WAS drive error. It was nucking fackard.