I want to learn from scratch [Linux]

Reaction score
As some of you are familiar with linux,;) and I am an absolute beginner so :D

I would like some good> easy> to understand links posted please:eek: , I know you guys and gals will help in this matter and I thank you :thumb: MS are getting on my nerves WATBS they come out with :p

Reaction score
Learn Linux

I want to learn Linux to, so i bought the current issue of PC Pro (April06).
It comes with SUSE Linux Live 10 as an ISO, burn it on to a DVD R Disc, put it in your DVD Drive and re-boot the PC, it loads automatically and is run only from the disc, so no changes to your PC. It's a good way to learn and look at Linux without installing it.:D

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
feckit said:
I want to learn Linux to, so i bought the current issue of PC Pro (April06).
It comes with SUSE Linux Live 10 as an ISO, burn it on to a DVD R Disc, put it in your DVD Drive and re-boot the PC, it loads automatically and is run only from the disc, so no changes to your PC. It's a good way to learn and look at Linux without installing it.:D
Ah yes, a very good point! http://www.knoppix.com/ is similar too, I use it sometimes as it boots from a CD and doesn't make any big changes. Worth trying SUSE Live or Knoppix to get to grips first :)

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
Hello "boys" welcome to my land of nutters ... be sure to register as a Linux user and join my FREE club for insane Linux users, we have 2 members. :D

The best place to look for ANY Distro is ... http://distrowatch.com/ ... on the right column you'll find a compleat list of "flavours" for your enjoyment.

May I recommend you stick to the top ten on the list ... all have a "liveCD" you can try out on your PC ... some of those Live CD will also install a full version on your PC. However, some Live CDs will not let you do much but play on the internet or check to see if your PC is compatable.