Excel Excel - Two Database Formula extraction?

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been reading multiple forums trying to come up with a formula for the following but just can't seem to get any of them to work.

I have two databases:

Database 1 holds An Event Name, Event Time, First Name, Last Name and Email (columns A through E).
Database 2 holds fundraising information - Event Name, First Name, Last Name, Email (Columns A through D).

I need to find everyone in Database 1 and not in database 2 and then everyone in database 2 but not in database 1.

Let's say we use the email as the matching factor, I'd like it to locate a matching email in Database 2 and copy to a new column in database 1 moving it into the same row so I'd end up with all database 1 info and then first name, last name, email from database two.

Is this possible? I'm a complete novice at formulas, are there any cheat sites where I can create a formula in a really easy way?

Thanks!

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
I changed the title of your thread to better reflect what you were asking ... I know nothing about Excel anymore.

:user:

Reaction score
I'm sure there are ways to do this with formulas, but I think there is a simpler solution. I would copy both of the full lists to a new worksheet, one after the other. Then go to the Data Tab and select Remove Duplicates (assuming you're in at least Excel 2007, if it's an older version, I forget where that command is). Select the columns you want to use to identify unique records, and it will leave you with a list that is all of the unique records from both lists.

Becky

Webmistress
Reaction score
Good point @alow :)