Do I need a new Computer?

Reaction score
Hi

I'm new to this, so please forgive me if I ramble or sound a bit thick!

I currently have a Dell Dimension 8300, pentium 4, 512MB RAM, windows XP. I connect to the internet via BT broadband (homehub wireless connection) and have Norton antivirus installed.

Recently the system has started to run really slowly at times - not just stuff like msn which is nearly always painfully slow, but also when using windows. Do you think it's time to replace this desktop and, if so, can anyone recommend a system for me. I don't do gaming, watch movies, or download lots of music. I use it mainly for emailing, storing and editing photos, family trees and general net surfing. I would hope not to spend much more than £500 (not including a new monitor and keyboard).

Any advice would be very welcome.

Thanks

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Welcome to PCR. :)

Though that is an older PC it should still be good for general home/office tasks etc. Just not gaming.

You say its started to run slow which suggested it just needs a bit of 'maintenance' ;)

Do you defrag, or clean it up at all?

Also check out how much space is left on the hard drive. (go to my computer, and look at the drive's free space) If its less than 20% Then that could have an impact on performance.

Have a in this thread: https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-2697599.php

Go to System Cleanup, Testing and Tweaking Tools

Download and install Ccleaner (slim version found on the builds page) dont worry about the 'Registry' bit just use the cleaner.

Also just above it in the Spyware section download Malwarebytes, install, update and run a full scan to eliminate the possibility of and malware on the system.

Then post back

:)

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
Hi
happywave.gif

For your usage your pc is just fine.Obviously a newer pc would run faster but might not be worth spending a large sum of money on.

Here are a few alternatives to spending loads of dosh.