Copy old hard drive to new and have dual boot?

Reaction score
Hello there,

Ok here goes. I currently have a 20gb hard drive in me laptop which is nearly full. I have just bought a 40 gb laptop hard drive and a usb caddy so I can connect the new 40gb laptop hard drive to my laptop.
What im wondering is can i copy my entire 20gb hard drive to the 40gb new one via USB, so that it would work and load the OS and everything and be exactly the same when I take the old 20gb one out and put the New 40gb one in.

Is this known as taking an image of my hard drive? What programs will I need, are there any free ones at all?
Also i Would like it if i could have a clean install of windows xp on the rest of the 20gb of the 40GB hard drive, and be able to choose which system i want to load at startup. Is this possible? Also what programs will i need?
Will the hard drive have to split up into 2 parts?
Hopefully someone can help me. Im new to this. If anyone knows of any threads already covering my questions could you please point me to them, or reply to my thread. Which ever is easiest for you. :)

Thanks in advance for any info

Tom

Reaction score
rite first question

i dont think u can load off of your usb drive
UNLESS YOUR BIOS SUPPORTS IT! tell us what motherboard u have?

now the software for all of your operations i would strongly reccomend its called NORTON GHOST!
it will clone one harddrive to another, no need to reinstall windows xp

now to install another version of windows on your usb drive should it let u
u need a programe called partition magic or u could use windows xp
u can set up a different version but id recomend it on a different partition

then i beleive u should get an option to decide with version of windows to go into just after bios!

hope this helps
get back with your motherboard or bios version

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
to have a dual boot system you'll need to make two partitions,as for the image i dont know if it will work