blocked canon printhead

Reaction score
ok need some help, i have a canon smartbase mp360 all in one printer. i recently returned from an extended holiday to a broken printer!!! i replaced the ink cartriges but am getting banding on my black ink and sometime it just doesn't print. this is very frustrating so i phoned canon and was told that my print head needs replacing, only i'm out of guaruntee and it's going to cost £50 for a new one!!!!!!!!! it was suggested that i should try cleaning my printhead myself using windolene. is this safe????!!! and also i have no clue as to how to remove the print head?! if anyone has basic instructions on how to do this as i'm a bit of a novice and i'm scared i make it worse! please help!!!!

Reaction score
gemma5211 said:
ok need some help, i have a canon smartbase mp360 all in one printer. i recently returned from an extended holiday to a broken printer!!! i replaced the ink cartriges but am getting banding on my black ink and sometime it just doesn't print. this is very frustrating so i phoned canon and was told that my print head needs replacing, only i'm out of guaruntee and it's going to cost £50 for a new one!!!!!!!!! it was suggested that i should try cleaning my printhead myself using windolene. is this safe????!!! and also i have no clue as to how to remove the print head?! if anyone has basic instructions on how to do this as i'm a bit of a novice and i'm scared i make it worse! please help!!!!

Had the same problem and tried this!

Remove the ink then remove the print head carefully, now I washed it in warm water:eek:

Left it soak in warm water with added washing up liquid leave over night, rinse in clean warm water dry it off be careful of the contacts leave it till absolutely dry and reassemble, it worked for me and lasted 16 mths, its worth a try.:thumb:

Reaction score
how???