Apple Macs

tek

Reaction score
I've been pondering lately about apple macs. I really like the iMac but I'm not very fimilar with them. Does anyone have one? how do you find them compared to PCs? and what difficulties do you have being on a mac? I'm a computing university student doing computer science, so I'm thinking a PC will much better suit my needs, or am I wrong?

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I think if you are doing a computing course then a PC will be the best choice, as the uni will almost certainly use them and you will be able to use the same software/files at home. I don't think I would be able to use a Mac for my uni course, as lots of the software we are given to use is PC specific.

Macs are really easy to use, look better and can run some things much better. I know loads of people that much prefer a Mac over a PC any day. If you do loads of graphics work or just like the usability better, then a Mac is a good choice. I'm sure someone here will have more experience than I do, so will be able to tell you a bit more :)

tek

Reaction score
Considering I will be doing things like coding and C++ programming I think a PC is a better choice. Macs still appeal to me alot, shame I don't have enough money for both :)

Reaction score
I have to support 35+ mac users here at work. There used in a publishing environment to create books and mags using Indesign CS etc...etc...
They are nice machines to work with when all is running ok. Thing is when there are hardware issues etc it is very costly to repair. Unlike PC's where parts are widely available.
Nowaday's PC's can handle what mac's can do. Maybe a few years ago mac's were the leading platform for graphic and design stuff.