Windows 7 windows 7


Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
hi all i'm very new to computers and need some help i have a toshiba pro lap top and have this problem with it : i cannot connect to internet and keep getting messages saying wsa startup failed and wrong socket and winsock failed can any1 help please as my son desperate to have it working again and please bare inmind i not a genius haha so step by step please thank you cory
 
Ad

Advertisements

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,221
Reaction score
1,605
We need to know the exact error messages please. :)
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
hi all sorry for being so computer illiterate lol on booting laptop i get failed to connect to a windows service. windows could not connect to the system event manager thanks cory
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
windows socket initialization failed
also
wsastartup() failed or you have the incorrect version of winsock installed
 

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
4,878
Reaction score
546
cory said:
wsastartup() failed or you have the incorrect version of winsock installed

To sort this problem out, restart your computer in Safemode.
Once in Safemode, navigate to RUN, once run is open, type CMD. You should see a new box open. Once this command prompt has opened, type in "netsh winsock reset" without quotations. That should sort that problem out. As for the other one, I will be back. BAsically ou need to re-register the "winsock.ocx"
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
hi now i on internet but everything realy slow and i looked to do a system restore and i carnt
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
thank you so much yous are to clever for words i am very grateful thank you again
 

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,221
Reaction score
1,605
EvanDavis said:
ok,do this in this order

download and install

Trend Micro[/url}

then go for
[url=http://www.malwarebytes.org/]Malwarebytes


Do those and you will be OK[/url]

cory said:
No, if he was that clever, he'd not have messed up the URL code. :p

[url="http://housecall.trendmicro.com/uk/"] http://housecall.trendmicro.com/uk/

http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Is the url's he meant. :)[/url]
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
my laptop is still not right but its alot better i am on internet but to tell you the truth it never was a mean machine lol thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Windows Vista Windows 7 3
Windows 7 Windows 7 1
Windows 7 Windows 7 4
Windows 7 Windows 7 sp1 9
Windows 7 Windows 7 and Networking 3
Windows 7 Windows 7 updates 5
Windows 7 windows 7 64bit 2
Windows 7 Windows 7 and IE7 2

Top