Turn off Formula

W

WhiteHawk

I am fairly new at using Excel - I am attempting to create a spreadsheet that includes vehicle information.... the Vehicle Title Numbers are seventeen digits - after I insert those numbers they appear to be calculated/converted in some way - the seventeen digit number is converted into the following: 5.74094E+15

If I double-click within that cell, then the number reverts back to the seventeen digit number I entered. Is there some way I can prevent the Title Number from being calculated/converted?

D

Don Guillett

numbers only goto 15 so you will have to make it TEXT

--
Don Guillett
SalesAid Software
(e-mail address removed)
I am fairly new at using Excel - I am attempting to create a spreadsheet that includes vehicle information.... the Vehicle Title Numbers are seventeen digits - after I insert those numbers they appear to be calculated/converted in some way - the seventeen digit number is converted into the following: 5.74094E+15

If I double-click within that cell, then the number reverts back to the seventeen digit number I entered. Is there some way I can prevent the Title Number from being calculated/converted?

N

Niek Otten

Either by formatting the cell as TEXT before entering the numbers or by preceding the number with a single quote when entering. The quote will not show, but cause the entry to be treated as text.

--

Kind Regards,

Niek Otten

Microsoft MVP - Excel

--
Don Guillett
SalesAid Software
(e-mail address removed)

W

WhiteHawk

Thanks Don... I'm not quite sure I understand..what do you mean by "make it TEXT?"

--
Don Guillett
SalesAid Software
(e-mail address removed)

W

WhiteHawk

Thanks - quotation marks around the number solved the problem....for now, this will work fine... thanks
Thanks Don... I'm not quite sure I understand..what do you mean by "make it TEXT?"

--
Don Guillett
SalesAid Software
(e-mail address removed)

C

CLR