To Quad or not to Quad?

Reaction score
Hey,

I'm a new user, but I came here seeking expertise and judging from what I have seen on this site that is exactly what you people are good at :)

I'm a computing student looking to build a new system, but I need help with processor choice.

Do I go with:

a) The 3.0 Ghz Dual Core AMD X2 AM2 6000 (cheapest option and most GHz)

b) The 2.6 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 (mid price, mid GHz)

c) The 2.4 Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (highest price, lowest Ghz, but 4 cores :s)

The system is mostly being used for work, with a fair bit of gaming too, and I'm looking to future proof.

The main thing I'm wondering is this: Is 3 Ghz x 2 better or worse than 2.4 Ghz x 4?

Thanks in advance!

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
How about 4 x 3.0Ghz? ;)

I was in almost the exact same positon as you, and I went for the Q6600 choice as recommended by another member here. I have to say I'm not disappointed in the slightest :D

Most Q6600's will do a 3Ghz overclock without a hitch, even on stock voltage. That would be my choice for the best value performance/price ratio if you can strech to it :thumb:

If it's any help, Ady's origional thread is here:

https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-3226366.php

and then I went and build something similar here (but more suited to games):

https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-3226418.php

Reaction score
Your idea intruiges me and I wish to learn more...

But anyway, overclocking 4 cpu cores by .6 Ghz each... guess I need to whack an extra fan or two into the case?

Oh, and will having a standard Q6600 have much of an effect apart from power consumption compared to the Q6600 G0? Cause the Barebones I was going to buy from Novatech only includes the standard one...

Last edited:

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
It might be worth spending an extra £8 and getting the ,

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ Socket AM2 Black Edition 3.20GHz

if you are going AMD as it is an unlocked overclocable cpu .