TD: Oveflow Error while building an image, Code = 0x800a0006


J

jimt

I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project file
from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few minutes with the following
popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the error
popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within two green bars of
completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

K

KM

JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit. I mean
there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow, crash, hang, lock, etc.) in
pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable for me. I have only
seen one TD crash on FP2007 so far and it was an extreme case when I was
playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who don't
have the code for the tools. However, since we won't be able to make any
changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort is purely
going to be an learning exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to Microsoft about
the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any
changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If so, could you share
out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the issue here,
I can capture more info about it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM
 
K

KM

Forgot to mention that if you are willing to share the image you can use one
of the XPProEmulation threads on www.xpefiles.com to upload a compressed
version of the file.

Thanks,
KM
JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit. I
mean there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow, crash, hang, lock,
etc.) in pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable for me. I
have only seen one TD crash on FP2007 so far and it was an extreme case
when I was playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who
don't have the code for the tools. However, since we won't be able to make
any changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort is
purely going to be an learning exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to
Microsoft about the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any
changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If so, could you share
out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the issue
here, I can capture more info about it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM
I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project file
from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few minutes with the following
popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the error
popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within two green bars of
completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
J

jimt

Hi KM,

I removed the ACPI Multiprocessor PC component, added it back in, and now it
builds(!). I don't understand why. The component I deleted should have
been the same as the one that I added back in. After all, the xp pro
emulation project file does not come with it's own ACPI Multiprocessor PC
component-- that was added by way of my tap derived device component. Oh
well. Never underestimate the upside to fooling around :)

Maybe the tool forgets how to track some internal resource. By removing and
adding the component that resource tracking is fixed(?).

I had saved a copy of the project file when it had the error, so the
original problem has not been lost by the above "fix". I posted this copy
on xpefiles as you suggested. I added some additional details in the
comments part of my post. My xpefiles post has the same subject name as
this NG post.

Thanks and Good luck,

--
Jimt

KM said:
Forgot to mention that if you are willing to share the image you can use
one of the XPProEmulation threads on www.xpefiles.com to upload a
compressed version of the file.

Thanks,
KM
JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit. I
mean there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow, crash, hang, lock,
etc.) in pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable for me. I
have only seen one TD crash on FP2007 so far and it was an extreme case
when I was playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who
don't have the code for the tools. However, since we won't be able to
make any changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort is
purely going to be an learning exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to
Microsoft about the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any
changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If so, could you
share out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the
issue here, I can capture more info about it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM
I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project file
from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few minutes with the following
popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the error
popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within two green bars of
completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not
selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
J

jimt

Hi KM,

After adding a few components, this project build failed again while
processing "ACPI Multiprocessor PC". I saw the same error popup. Once
again, deleting ACPI Multiprocessor PC and adding it back cleared up the
problem.

I've got a funny feeling there are pre-RTM FP2007 components in this
prebuilt xpefiles "xp pro emulation" SLX project. Maybe it would be best
for me to build the xp pro emulation image from scratch using the filter in
xpetools (thanks for xpetools!!) as previously discussed.

Since I have a workaround I suppose this is not urgent, but I was curious.
Did get a chance to look into the SLX I posted on xpefiles? I saw that it
had been downloaded a few times.

Bye,

--
jimt


jimt said:
Hi KM,

I removed the ACPI Multiprocessor PC component, added it back in, and now
it builds(!). I don't understand why. The component I deleted should
have been the same as the one that I added back in. After all, the xp pro
emulation project file does not come with it's own ACPI Multiprocessor PC
component-- that was added by way of my tap derived device component. Oh
well. Never underestimate the upside to fooling around :)

Maybe the tool forgets how to track some internal resource. By removing
and adding the component that resource tracking is fixed(?).

I had saved a copy of the project file when it had the error, so the
original problem has not been lost by the above "fix". I posted this copy
on xpefiles as you suggested. I added some additional details in the
comments part of my post. My xpefiles post has the same subject name as
this NG post.

Thanks and Good luck,

--
Jimt

KM said:
Forgot to mention that if you are willing to share the image you can use
one of the XPProEmulation threads on www.xpefiles.com to upload a
compressed version of the file.

Thanks,
KM
JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit. I
mean there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow, crash, hang, lock,
etc.) in pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable for me. I
have only seen one TD crash on FP2007 so far and it was an extreme case
when I was playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who
don't have the code for the tools. However, since we won't be able to
make any changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort
is purely going to be an learning exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to
Microsoft about the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any
changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If so, could you
share out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the
issue here, I can capture more info about it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM

I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project file
from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few minutes with the
following popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the error
popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within two green bars of
completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not
selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
K

KM

jimt,

I did download the image. However, didn't have a chance to even load it up.
Recently I am loaded with some urgent tasks and projects. I will take a look into the issue right after I am done with that.

--
=========
Regards,
KM

Hi KM,

After adding a few components, this project build failed again while processing "ACPI Multiprocessor PC". I saw the same error
popup. Once again, deleting ACPI Multiprocessor PC and adding it back cleared up the problem.

I've got a funny feeling there are pre-RTM FP2007 components in this prebuilt xpefiles "xp pro emulation" SLX project. Maybe it
would be best for me to build the xp pro emulation image from scratch using the filter in xpetools (thanks for xpetools!!) as
previously discussed.

Since I have a workaround I suppose this is not urgent, but I was curious. Did get a chance to look into the SLX I posted on
xpefiles? I saw that it had been downloaded a few times.

Bye,

--
jimt


jimt said:
Hi KM,

I removed the ACPI Multiprocessor PC component, added it back in, and now it builds(!). I don't understand why. The component I
deleted should have been the same as the one that I added back in. After all, the xp pro emulation project file does not come
with it's own ACPI Multiprocessor PC component-- that was added by way of my tap derived device component. Oh well. Never
underestimate the upside to fooling around :)

Maybe the tool forgets how to track some internal resource. By removing and adding the component that resource tracking is
fixed(?).

I had saved a copy of the project file when it had the error, so the original problem has not been lost by the above "fix". I
posted this copy on xpefiles as you suggested. I added some additional details in the comments part of my post. My xpefiles
post has the same subject name as this NG post.

Thanks and Good luck,

--
Jimt

KM said:
Forgot to mention that if you are willing to share the image you can use one of the XPProEmulation threads on www.xpefiles.com
to upload a compressed version of the file.

Thanks,
KM

JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit. I mean there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow,
crash, hang, lock, etc.) in pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable for me. I have only seen one TD crash on
FP2007 so far and it was an extreme case when I was playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who don't have the code for the tools. However, since we
won't be able to make any changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort is purely going to be an learning
exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to Microsoft about the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If
so, could you share out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the issue here, I can capture more info about
it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM

I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project file from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few minutes
with the following popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the error popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within two
green bars of completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

J

jimt

Hi KM,

I think I found the cause of the Overflow Error. If one sets up a swapfile
size of 2048 MBytes, with a max of 4096 MBytes, one apparently overflows an
internal VBScript variable. If I take these values out of my ACP
Multiprocessor PC component setting, and move the swapfile specification
over to a project registry entry, then the problem goes away.

I guess nobody ever tried a big swapsize before. Or I have misinterpreted
my test results.

Bye,

--
JimT.

KM said:
jimt,

I did download the image. However, didn't have a chance to even load it
up.
Recently I am loaded with some urgent tasks and projects. I will take a
look into the issue right after I am done with that.

--
=========
Regards,
KM

Hi KM,

After adding a few components, this project build failed again while
processing "ACPI Multiprocessor PC". I saw the same error popup. Once
again, deleting ACPI Multiprocessor PC and adding it back cleared up the
problem.

I've got a funny feeling there are pre-RTM FP2007 components in this
prebuilt xpefiles "xp pro emulation" SLX project. Maybe it would be best
for me to build the xp pro emulation image from scratch using the filter
in xpetools (thanks for xpetools!!) as previously discussed.

Since I have a workaround I suppose this is not urgent, but I was
curious. Did get a chance to look into the SLX I posted on xpefiles? I
saw that it had been downloaded a few times.

Bye,

--
jimt


jimt said:
Hi KM,

I removed the ACPI Multiprocessor PC component, added it back in, and
now it builds(!). I don't understand why. The component I deleted
should have been the same as the one that I added back in. After all,
the xp pro emulation project file does not come with it's own ACPI
Multiprocessor PC component-- that was added by way of my tap derived
device component. Oh well. Never underestimate the upside to fooling
around :)

Maybe the tool forgets how to track some internal resource. By removing
and adding the component that resource tracking is fixed(?).

I had saved a copy of the project file when it had the error, so the
original problem has not been lost by the above "fix". I posted this
copy on xpefiles as you suggested. I added some additional details in
the comments part of my post. My xpefiles post has the same subject
name as this NG post.

Thanks and Good luck,

--
Jimt

Forgot to mention that if you are willing to share the image you can
use one of the XPProEmulation threads on www.xpefiles.com to upload a
compressed version of the file.

Thanks,
KM

JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit.
I mean there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow, crash, hang,
lock, etc.) in pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable
for me. I have only seen one TD crash on FP2007 so far and it was an
extreme case when I was playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who
don't have the code for the tools. However, since we won't be able to
make any changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort
is purely going to be an learning exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to
Microsoft about the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any
changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If so, could you
share out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the
issue here, I can capture more info about it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM

I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project
file from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few minutes with the
following popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the
error popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within two green
bars of completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not
selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

K

KM

Hi Jim,

I didn't have much time to spend on this issue and I really appreciate your reports here.

I have actually saw the big pagefile causing similar exceptions (VB script unhandled errors) on some pre-FP2007 releases. Looks like
a bug to me.

Good news is that my XPProEmulation image posted on xpefiles.com is clean (doesn't have a reference to any CTP or Beta related
intermediate components). Bad news is that the pagefile bug is there in FP2007.

--
=========
Regards,
KM
Hi KM,

I think I found the cause of the Overflow Error. If one sets up a swapfile size of 2048 MBytes, with a max of 4096 MBytes, one
apparently overflows an internal VBScript variable. If I take these values out of my ACP Multiprocessor PC component setting, and
move the swapfile specification over to a project registry entry, then the problem goes away.

I guess nobody ever tried a big swapsize before. Or I have misinterpreted my test results.

Bye,

--
JimT.

KM said:
jimt,

I did download the image. However, didn't have a chance to even load it up.
Recently I am loaded with some urgent tasks and projects. I will take a look into the issue right after I am done with that.

--
=========
Regards,
KM

Hi KM,

After adding a few components, this project build failed again while processing "ACPI Multiprocessor PC". I saw the same error
popup. Once again, deleting ACPI Multiprocessor PC and adding it back cleared up the problem.

I've got a funny feeling there are pre-RTM FP2007 components in this prebuilt xpefiles "xp pro emulation" SLX project. Maybe it
would be best for me to build the xp pro emulation image from scratch using the filter in xpetools (thanks for xpetools!!) as
previously discussed.

Since I have a workaround I suppose this is not urgent, but I was curious. Did get a chance to look into the SLX I posted on
xpefiles? I saw that it had been downloaded a few times.

Bye,

--
jimt


Hi KM,

I removed the ACPI Multiprocessor PC component, added it back in, and now it builds(!). I don't understand why. The component
I deleted should have been the same as the one that I added back in. After all, the xp pro emulation project file does not
come with it's own ACPI Multiprocessor PC component-- that was added by way of my tap derived device component. Oh well.
Never underestimate the upside to fooling around :)

Maybe the tool forgets how to track some internal resource. By removing and adding the component that resource tracking is
fixed(?).

I had saved a copy of the project file when it had the error, so the original problem has not been lost by the above "fix". I
posted this copy on xpefiles as you suggested. I added some additional details in the comments part of my post. My xpefiles
post has the same subject name as this NG post.

Thanks and Good luck,

--
Jimt

Forgot to mention that if you are willing to share the image you can use one of the XPProEmulation threads on www.xpefiles.com
to upload a compressed version of the file.

Thanks,
KM

JimT ,

Interesting. I never saw this one with FP2007 version of the toolkit. I mean there were a bunch of similar issues (overflow,
crash, hang, lock, etc.) in pre-FP2007 times but now the tools work really stable for me. I have only seen one TD crash on
FP2007 so far and it was an extreme case when I was playing around with a debugger.

There are some ways to debug the issue even for us [non-MS folks] who don't have the code for the tools. However, since we
won't be able to make any changes in TD and re-build and test the new tools, the effort is purely going to be an learning
exercise. Perhaps, filing a bug to Microsoft about the issue is a better idea.
[http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx]

Anyway, since I am not seeing the issue here at all, did you make any changes to the XPProEmulation project on your side? If
so, could you share out the image so that I could give it a try? If I can repro the issue here, I can capture more info about
it with a debugger.

Regards,
KM

I tried to build an image in TD using KM's xp pro emulation project file from xpefile.com. The build fails after a few
minutes with the following popup error message:

Microsoft Target Designer
---------------------------
An internal error occured while building the runtime image.
Code = 0x800a0006
Description = Overflow
[OK]

The Debug window at the bottom shows this:
Error 6 (0x6) in "Microsoft VBScript runtime error": Overflow

It was Building the "ACPI Multiprocessor PC" component when the error popped up. Based on the Progress bar it was within
two green bars of completing. Dang.

Factiods:
This is an SP2 FP2007 toolset, purchased tools, not eval
The PC has never run a CTP eval
Dependencies were all resolved manually (auto-resolve is not selected)
My build machine has 2GB of memory,
Build machine OS is XP Pro SP2.
XPe build env most recent updates: From 15Jan07, X13-45138.img
Free diskspace on build machine: 44GB

Settings:
Visibility is 100
Build Type is Release
Mode = expert
Nums at bottom: 1905 components 582,707KB 809316KB

Thanks in advance for any help.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top