Specific words Categorizaion

N

nfb

Hello there! I have had some experience with excel, but not this early in the development stage of a workbook.

I have been given a task to categorize rows by the specific words that appear in a cell. I have +150K rows to look through.

I have filtered specific words and categorized them. (This is a slow process) But not all words appear. I am looking to make a formula that will use alist to search through that I can update and do this automatically.

There will be 2 different Categories for each row.

If the Column A has "baseball" or "basketball" in it make it the respectivecategory. If both appear, make it “Baseball”.

In the second Category if it has “card” in Column A make it “Primary”, if not make it “Secondary”. If it has a location, add “GEO” tothe end. If not, don’t add “GEO”.

Examples

Column A Column B Column C
baseball cards Baseball Primary
baseball basketball Baseball Secondary
basketball cards new york Basketball Primary GEO
basketball new york Basketball Secondary GEO

I understand this will not work for all 150 rows. But it will take care of the common words, leaving the rather difficult words for me to go through.

D

Don Guillett

Hello there! I have had some experience with excel, but not this early inthe development stage of a workbook.

I have been given a task to categorize rows by the specific words that appear in a cell. I have +150K rows to look through.

I have filtered specific words and categorized them. (This is a slow process) But not all words appear. I am looking to make a formula that will usea list to search through that I can update and do this automatically.

There will be 2 different Categories for each row.

If the Column A has "baseball" or "basketball" in it make it the respective category. If both appear, make it “Baseball”.