Select on name fields and enter the ID

G

Hi

Here's the problem. I have two tables, People and Memberships. When entry is done in Memberships, the People.ID field needs to be entered. However, it is something of a pain ;) to go and look this up manually every time

What I would like is to be able to select based on People.LastName, People.FirstName, but have the People.ID for the selected person be what is inputted into the Memberships.PeopleID.

Thanks

Glenn

G

Glenn, If I am not mistaken, you will need to create a relationship between People.PeopleID and Membership.PeopleID. If that does not work use an event to make Membership.PeopleID = [People.PeopleID]. I am fairly new to Access (about 2 months) but Both have worked for me.

----- Glenn Glazer wrote: -----

Hi,

Here's the problem. I have two tables, People and Memberships. When entry is done in Memberships, the People.ID field needs to be entered. However, it is something of a pain ;) to go and look this up manually every time.

What I would like is to be able to select based on People.LastName, People.FirstName, but have the People.ID for the selected person be what is inputted into the Memberships.PeopleID.

Thanks!

Glenn

G

Hi, Tims

Actually, you responded before I could delete the question. ;) After I posted, I did a search and in the thread called "Showing data from other table" I found my answer. Basically, you have to set up an n column combo box to select the rows you want to see and then create an AfterUpdate event to write the column you want into the field.

There ought to be some standardized way of doing this with a wizard or such - every table with a foreign key will need something like it

Thanks

Glen

----- Tims wrote: ----