Saving a shared worksheet


R

Ramesh

HI,

When a worksheet is setup as shared on the network, and two users have
opened this file concurrently, and both are editing the file, who s version
will get finally saved? Will the data saved by the user who closes first be
lost when the second user saves?

Could you someone enlighten on what really a shared workbook means?

Thanks
Ramesh
 
Ad

Advertisements

J

Jim Rech

The whole point of shared workbooks is to save the changes of all
simultaneous users. When two user edit the same cell a 'Resolve Conflicts'
dialog will appear. You should search in Excel help on 'shared workbook'
for more on workbook sharing.

--
Jim
| HI,
|
| When a worksheet is setup as shared on the network, and two users have
| opened this file concurrently, and both are editing the file, who s
version
| will get finally saved? Will the data saved by the user who closes first
be
| lost when the second user saves?
|
| Could you someone enlighten on what really a shared workbook means?
|
| Thanks
| Ramesh
|
|
 
Ad

Advertisements

A

aidan.heritage

HI,

When a worksheet is setup as shared on the network, and two users have
opened this file concurrently, and both are editing the file, who s version
will get finally saved? Will the data saved by the user who closes first be
lost when the second user saves?

Could you someone enlighten on what really a shared workbook means?

Thanks
Ramesh

A shared workbook means a disaster waiting to happen - shared
workbooks should be avoided at all costs.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top