Pprekop.exe error solution

D

Don

I have previously posted regarding the event viewer error which is logged at the startup of Party Poker which shows as follows:
Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 2/13/2007
Time: 9:36:53 AM
User: N/A
Computer: DONS-HAVASU2007
Description:
Faulting application pprekop.exe, version 4.2.0.172, faulting module
ole32.dll, version 5.1.2600.2182, fault address 0x10017bed.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 6d 00 6b 00 63 00 4b 00 m.k.c.K.
0008: 64 00 35 00 32 00 36 00 d.5.2.6.
0010: 37 00 76 00 55 00 71 00 7.v.U.q.
0018: 70 p

I have now discovered that this error is somehow related to one or more of the microsoft updates for win xp. I have been chasing this problem for many months and no one has been able to help. I have just discovered the connection by doing a full format (for the 3rd time) on my hard drive and then reinstalling my win xp home edition ... with checks along the way for the error. I have not yet isolated the exact cause but today found the relationship by upgrading 2 older machines to win xp (with no previous errors - and party poker already installed). After the upgrade (both machines had Win ME installed), I updated both machines via the microsoft update site .. and then discovered that both now produce the exact same error message whenever party poker is started. My wife's machine is also running win xp but does not have all the KB updates installed (service pack 2 & IE 7 are installed but not all the rest of the KBs). Her machine does not show the error when party poker is started. I just checked and there are 10 critical updates waiting for download. She does have IE 7 installed and running fine. Her machine is also still using the "windows update" and not the "microsoft update". Fortunately (for the sake of diagnostics in this issue) her machine has not yet installed all the updates. T