Outlook File Attachment Based on Contact Name

D

Dan

I'm an Access developer and have limited experience with Outlook development, so hoping someone can help here.

I'll Try to explain this as best as I can. When the client selects a a contact to send a message to, I need all information pertaining to that client to be displayed in the e-mail or as a file attachment. The information will come from an outside file that will be generated from a database.

I thought of a few possible ways of doing this but I'm really not to familiar with Outlook, so if anyone has better suggestions, I'd love to hear them.

First I thought if I generated a separate file for each contact and then within Outlook VBA, code could be written to get the current contact that the e-mail is being sent to and attach the file that has the same name.

My other thought was if I was to create a form and have those form fields tied to a data source such as Excel or a text file and some type of SQL statement could be written where it would look for the matching contact in the file and populate the fields with the corresponding data. I don't even know if this would be possible.

If anyone can offer me some suggestions on this, I would really appreciate it. I'm sort've out of my comfort zone with this but I look at it as new learning experience, which is always good. Thanks. .
Submitted using http://www.outlookforums.com

K

Ken Slovak - [MVP - Outlook]

If this is a solution that you plan to deploy then using Outlook VBA is not
suitable. Outlook VBA is intended mostly for prototyping or personal code,
not deployment.

The first question I'd ask are where will this code run? Will it be in
Outlook, in Access, as standalone code, etc.? I'd also ask what Outlook
versions you intend to support, what will trigger the code to start working
and what languages you are familiar with.

You mention a client selecting a contact to send a message to. Is this in