Outlook add-in multithreading (plus)

S

Steve Gerrard

Hi,

I'm rather new at this outlook add-in development stuff, and though I've been trying to read as much background as possible before attacking the real thing, I seem to be missing quite a few essential elements, so please point me in the right direction if I'm completely off.

I'm trying to develop an add-in that would enable sending large attachments, much the same way as the yousendit outlook add-in, or its Adobe counterpart.

The first thing for me is trying to select the appropriate technology/framework/API.

I've read all over that the outlook object model has issues with multithreading, and since it's imperative for my add-in that the outlook GUI remains responsive while attachments are being uploaded in the background (before the sent mail item is actually sent or moved to the outbox), multithreading is a must. I've managed to gather some bits and pieces that lead me to believe MAPI could be my friend, but have not managed to find any concrete answer as to whether a MAPI add-in even exists: is it an alternative for the Outlook object model, or simply an additional API that can be used from within a VSTO/COM add-in?

So, my question is: can I use C# VSTO in order to develop an add-in that parses attachments in the background, while outlook remains responsive and functional? If so, is it simply a matter of starting a new background thread? Can you recommend any sample / how-to / open-source code / book that could get me started?