.net controls advice

J

John

Hi

I am contemplating purchasing either Infragistics or DV Express .net
controls. I need advise on which one is better if any. I need the usual
controls that both offer i.e. grid, tab, explorer bars etc.

Many Thanks

Regards

S

Smokey Grindel

DevExpress is a great set of controls... we have been using them for 2 years
now and they make life so much easier

M

Marius Horak

My experience with 3rd party components ( >10 years) - don't use them.
Sooner or later they won't work and you will have to wait a year or two
for a fix.

Write youself.

MH

S

Satish Itty

I have used Infragistics Netadvantage for Windows form and is pretty
satisfied with it.

M

Marc Greiner

Hi John,

I have been using the DevExpress controls for a while now (5 years+), starting with the ActiveX controls they still provide, and using the .NET controls for WinForms today. I know what one can do with them, and it isbringing what a developper needs, even in complex situations.
I use mainly the Grid, Tree, LookUp (multi column Combo-box), Image combo, color combo (nicely arranged colors, by the way), DateCombo with Vista look with a clock + zooming effects also under XP (first ever DateCombo that worked the way I needed it, and yes, the Sheridan DateCombo couldn't handle it (ActiveX version at that time), and I have tried 5 or 6 different one without being happy with them), using these controls directly in Forms or embeded in Grids/Trees for direct edition (exactly these same controls embedded in their Grid, not fake and limited subset copies)..

I also used the Infragistics/Sheridan controls in the past, and I remember replacing them with the DevExpress controls with ease and benefit forthe end-user. The DevExpress controls are more flexible.

When I look at the Infragistics-site (by the way, I can't render every page of their site with Opera, I need to switch to IE7 there), the .NET editors still look like the old activeX controls: