Microsoft 2003 Office Access Message ----- Error # 3033

Reaction score
Hello ---- Need Help

MY PROBLEM:

I'm able to open up the first file

Filename: USS Haynsworth 2004-1.mdb - created: Thursday, April 01, 2004 --- modified: Feb. 06, 2007 Size: 2,478,080
I'm NOT able to open up the second file --- "You do not have the necessary permissions to use this database.mdb. Have your system administrator or the person who created the object established the appropriate permission for you."

Filename: USS Haynsworth 2004.mdb - created: Thursday, Feb. 06, 2007 --- modified: November 25, 2006
Size: 3,280,896

I recently discovered your site and I hope that someone can help me resolve my problem.

I will try not to waste too much time with basic question. First let me start by saying, although I am a senior citizen, I have been using computers for 15 years or more. I've been using Microsoft Access since it was first introduced over 10 years ago and although it was a bit difficult at times, I was able to build several efficient - useful databases and never had a problem even moving them from one computer to another, or upgrading to the newest version 2003 etc.

I also built and maintain a website www.USSHaynsworth.com in 1999 that honors the 3500 Shipmates that served aboard this US Destroyer in the 26 years that it was in service. It is this database that I have maintained with all the necessary information that I am unable to open. As a safeguard I was backing up all my files on drive C, D, E on a USB external drive using a software "Drive Image 7.0"

Several weeks back I experienced some kind of a glitch that created problems on several of my programs, Access 2003 would not open Error # 3033. After hours of researching on Google --- I learned that I could change the USSHaynsworth.bak file extension to .mdb and my database opened up, problem was this backup file was three years old (missing any updates since 2004.