Lookup Results Problems

D

Doug S

I am attempting to search a second worksheet for and exact match using a
parameter in the first worksheet. I've solve the NA problem thanks to this
forum and MOST of the searches are turning up good data.

Unfortunately, I have a master list of hospitals in spreadsheet A and am
trying to mark which ones are transplant facilities from a list of these
hospitals off of spreadsheet B.

The formula finds the matches just fine but if a particular row is not found
in the subset list on B, it puts down the previous match until it finds the
next match and so on... I want anything that does not match to give a 0 or
blank (or similar). I would appreciate it if someone can help.

S

Sean Timmons

assuming you are using a VLOOKUP()

you should use ,FALSE at the end of it to only view exact matches:

=VLOOKUP(A2,Sheet2!A:B,2,FALSE)

Since some may not have exact matches, us ISNA to account for those..

=IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP(A2,Sheet2!A:B,2,FALSE)),"",VLOOKUP(A2,Sheet2!A:B,2,FALSE)
)

Would leave the formula cell blank if there is no exact match.

D

Doug S

Thanks for responding so quickly... Actually, I'm using LOOKUP() since I
can't gaurantee the data will be sorted by the client. I am pasting the
actual formula here.

=IF(ISNA(LOOKUP(E14,Transplant_Centers!$A$2:$A$100,Transplant_Centers!$B$2:$B$100)),"",LOOKUP(E14,Transplant_Centers!$A$2:$A$100,Transplant_Centers!$B$2:$B$100))

Information in the E14 and column A is actually the ID key field on both
worksheets.

T

T. Valko

You can't use LOOKUP in this application. By default, using LOOKUP, if an
exact match isn't found then it will return a "closest" match that is less
than the lookup_value. For example:

A...x
C...o
D...t

If you lookup "B" it doesn't exist and the closest match that is less than
"B" will be "A" so the result you'll get is x.

If the values being returned are hospital names then I'm assuming these are
TEXT values.

Try this: