Late Binding in C#

P

Pete

Hi,

I want to essentially perform late binding in c#.

The rough equivalent in VB (6) would be:

dim x as ifcMyInterface
dim SensibleClassName as string

SensibleClassName = .... 'something sensible

set x = createobject(SensibleClassName)

So, I want to read eoungh information to uniquely identify the class
dynamically, but I am expecting it to support a particular interface (or
at the very least to contain a particular method). The class will be
inside a .net library, won't be a com cpt.

Any hints?

This is my first project back in c# after having had to hack stuff in VB
for the last year, and I've still got my COM head on...

TIA

*** Sent via Devdex http://www.devdex.com ***
Don't just participate in USENET...get rewarded for it!

P

Patrick Steele [MVP]

Hi,

I want to essentially perform late binding in c#.

The rough equivalent in VB (6) would be:

dim x as ifcMyInterface
dim SensibleClassName as string

SensibleClassName = .... 'something sensible

set x = createobject(SensibleClassName)

So, I want to read eoungh information to uniquely identify the class
dynamically, but I am expecting it to support a particular interface (or
at the very least to contain a particular method). The class will be
inside a .net library, won't be a com cpt.

Any hints?

To instantiate an object by it's name (as a string) look at
Activator.CreateInstance().

G

No prob, hoped it helped...

If you want to load classes from an assembly, all this is even easier. You can load them, search for a specific class or name, etc.