Inheritance question - I am new to this

P

Peter Hamilton

I am trying to implement inheritance but I am having a difficult time with some concepts.

What I am trying to do is have a Child object inherit from the Parent, and when you set a property value at the Parent level, I want all of the children to see this change. Likewise, when I set a Parent's property value in the child object, both the parent and all of the children see the change.

Maybe what I am trying to do is not "inheritance" after all. But, if anyone can point me in the right direction it would be appreciated.

Sample simple VB code is below (I have omitted the #Region " Windows Form Designer generated code " stuff)
Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Dim oParent As New Parent() '//Parent Object
Dim oChild As New Child() '//Child inherits from Parent
oParent.ParentName = "I set this for the parent!" '//Set the parent's value

MessageBox.Show("oParent.ParentName = '" & oParent.ParentName & "'" & vbCrLf & vbCrLf & "oChild.ParentName = '" & oChild.ParentName & "'") '//This returns an empty string!! (I want the child to know about its parent's value!!!)

End Sub

End Class

Public Class Parent

Private m_ParentName As String
Public Property ParentName()

Get

Return m_ParentName

End Get

Set(ByVal Value)

m_ParentName = Value

End Set

End Property

End Class

'//No methods, I just want to see if we can see the parent's name...

Public Class Child

Inherits Parent

End Class

T

Tom Spink

(Please don't post in HTML)

Hi, you can't do what you are trying to do about a parent setting it's
childrens value. How does a parent know which class' are being derived.

However, you can access the methods/properties of the class you are
inheriting from by using the MyBase statement.

--
Happy to help,
-- Tom Spink
([email protected])

" There's no place like 127.0.0.1 "

Please respond to the newsgroup,
so all can benefit.

One Day,