I'm about to take the plunge and buy a laptop......but which one?

Reaction score
I have always used a fairly high spec desktop PC's. My current PC is a Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz, 2GB RAM.......

anyway, I need to find a laptop that is roughly as good as my current desktop as I use it for alot of graphics programs, and I often have 2 graphics/CAD programs running at the same time.

Here are 6 laptops that I am considering. I've listed all their specifications here. I'm no laptop expert, so if you think one or two of the following laptops stand out then please let me know.......or maybe you could list them from best to worst? (ignore the prices, I'm just interested in which is the fastest)

http://reviews.cnet.com/HP_Compaq_B..._GHz_17_TFT/4507-3121_7-31703680.html?tag=sub

http://www.dixons.co.uk/martprd/sto...dhhmdgmh.0&sku=143032&tabIndex=1&page=Product

http://www.currys.co.uk/product.php?sku=558522&camp_id=558522

http://www.ciao.co.uk/Productinformation/Compaq_Presario_V5120EU__6481087

http://www.inmac.co.uk/catalogue/item/Y995785R

http://reviews.cnet.com/HP_Compaq_Presario_V5000Z/4507-3121_7-31727904.html?tag=sub

I have a couple of favourites, but I'd like some impartial expert advise :)
Cheers!

Last edited:
Reaction score
With laptops you also want to take into consideration weight and battery life and performance, especially if you are running fairly graphically intensive programs.

Have a look at this:
http://www.rockdirect.com/viewNotebook.php?pName=XTREME 64

You wont get much better than that (performance-wise).

The second, third and fourth links are ones you should drop, the first links laptop looked very promising :).

But it all boils down to how you use it..on the go alot, or just a back-up pc.

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
1. Editors rating, 5.8 out of 10 ... I'll give it 3

2. An Advent ... that's an Xmas calender, innit?

3. Whoa, that Tosh is cheap ... oh, I see why