I lose the ability to use the Shift or Caps Lock keys in many websites


Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
In the login screen of many websites I am unable to use the Shift or Caps Lock keys. When I try to add a (e-mail address removed) as part of an email address it just shows as '2'. I'm also unable to add capital letters to a case sensitive password. The only way I can log on is to type the username and password in a Word document and copy it to the website. This problem just started yesterday. I have IE10 and Windows 7. What do you think happened and how can it be corrected?

Thank you.
 
Ad

Advertisements

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,689
Reaction score
1,177
sounds like some sort of 'accessibility options' problem and or keyboard layout wrongly set.

Does this keyboard have 'special' function keys like a laptop or gaming keyboard? (what make keyboard?)


:user:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
sounds like some sort of 'accessibility options' problem and or keyboard layout wrongly set.

Does this keyboard have 'special' function keys like a laptop or gaming keyboard? (what make keyboard?)


:user:
No, it's just a standard issue HP laptop keyboard.
 
Ad

Advertisements

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
5,030
Reaction score
645
What browser would you suggest?


Google Chrome

At least if you try a different browser and have no problem then you can put the error down to IE10, if you get the same error in Google Chrome then the error would be down to your computer.

If there error was just you getting " 2 " when you press Shift + @ then it would probably mean you have American language keyboard installed rather than English.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
EvanDavis,

Thank you for your continued assistance. Last night I tried both Google Chrome and Firefox browsers. I was unable to log in to my email account. They also wouldn't allow me to copy my password from a Word document like other sites do. At least in IE10 I can do that so I uninstalled them. I guess that means the problem is with my laptop. Would you suggest I just contact HP's tech support?
 

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
5,030
Reaction score
645
Next I would suggest going in to Control Panel then Region and Language to check that everything is set to United Kingdonm
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
EvanDavis,

I'm actually based in the US. I've been out of town for awhile and am only getting back now. I did check the HP Trouble shooting guide which suggested I set the language to United States Dvorak. I did so but except for the date and time showing in Military style I saw no difference. Any other ideas?

Thank you
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
EvanDavis,

Thank you very much for your assistance. I eventually figured out the problem was related to my anti-virus software. The issue has since been resolved.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top