how to setup a dsn-less connection

G

Hello, I know I may be asking a lot but I am not very good at script in fact I know nothing. I have a page with the following code and I would like to make the connection DSN-less. - - 'Check the database to see if user exsits and read in there password
'Initialise the strAccessDB variable with the name of the Access Database
strAccessDB = "users"

'Create a connection odject
Set adoCon = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")

'Database connection info and driver
strCon = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};uid=;pwd=letmein; DBQ=" & Server.MapPath(strAccessDB)

'Set an active connection to the Connection object
adoCon.Open strCon

'Create a recordset object
Set rsCheckUser = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

'Initalise the strSQL variable with an SQL statement to query the database
strSQL = "SELECT tblUsers.Password FROM tblUsers WHERE tblUsers.UserID ='" & strUserName & "'"

'Query the database
rsCheckUser.Open strSQL, strCon

K

Ken Ford - PVII Support

This is a DSN-less connection:

strCon = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};uid=;pwd=letmein; DBQ=" & Server.MapPath(strAccessDB)

--
Ken Ford
Certified Dreamweaver MX 2004 Developer
PVII Support Team
http://www.projectseven.com

(e-mail address removed)...
Hello, I know I may be asking a lot but I am not very good at script in fact I know nothing. I have a page with the following code
and I would like to make the connection
- 'Check the database to see if user
exsits and read in there password

G

then what type of connection is this I was told this was dsn-less - oConn.Open "Driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};" & _
"Dbq=c:\somepath\mydb.mdb;" &
"Uid=admin;" &
"Pwd=

K

Ken Ford - PVII Support

That one is a DSN-less connection as well, it is using the physical path to the database file.

The other one you posted is using Server.MapPath to the database file.

I'm assuming that you are trying to use the other one to connect to your database.