FreeNAS hardware


Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
7,880
Reaction score
739
Hello all.

We all know money a little hard to come by at present yeah?

I have for a while had plans to build a system for the NAS and using what I have laying about at home. Maybe buy a better APU. I bought the flagship model albeit old now. The AMD A8-3870K - 4x 3GHz. It's going into a FM1 board with about 16gig ddr3.

My question is do you think it is enough to run a FreeNAS server and possibly one VM?
I don't have a clue really so it's all a new learning curve for me. I will of course have to buy the HDD's
Gonna cost a few quid as I want to fill the SATA ports. 6 in total on this board GA-A55M-S2HP.
And a case too.

Cabinet is in and all wired up awaiting this;

What are you opinions powerful enough? Should be yeah?
I'm taking into account most NAS have four cores of a lower lower speed and much lower memory config?

I'm a complete n00b at this FreeNAS stuff and VM's so looking forward to delving in.

Any opinions?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,493
Reaction score
1,238
Yup, that'll be great for FreeNAS, even with a VM running. I've got several VMs running on a lower spec NAS. If you run a NAS, definitely read up on Docker - it's amazing for running 3rd party apps.

Have you got a small SSD? That would be amazing to run the OS from, as well as Docker/VMs. Spinning disks can do the bulk of the normal storage.
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,743
Reaction score
1,064
You can get a 120 GB ssd for less than £20 inc postage,

https://www.picstop.co.uk/ssd-drive...0_1604251817_73b9d93cf6085d6b093b610cb98bc893

https://www.mymemory.co.uk/memory/data-storage/ssd-drives/120gb-ssd.html

Or even for less than a tenner for a second hand one.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OCZ-Agil...anic&brand=OCZ&_trksid=p2047675.c100010.m2109

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-...895167?hash=item4db67975ff:g:53cAAOSwQbFfVmKj

Ssd's have tons of life in them and the smaller £2/64/120 GB ones are dirt cheap and much better than a usb stick. I would avoid the unknown brand Chinese ones.

:cool:
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
7,880
Reaction score
739
Yes I know mate. Money is extremely tight at present...Extremely. So it can wait :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,743
Reaction score
1,064
Yes I know mate. Money is extremely tight at present...Extremely. So it can wait :)
Been there done that, you have my sympathy. Best part of being skint is when you get something new that you have saved up for you get a real kick out of it. :D
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Hardware compatibility 1
Hardware issue 2
Hardware Spotlight 2
hardware for new computer 4
cleaning my hardware? 2
Homebuilt hardware selection 4
all hardware gone!!!!! :'( 29
Hardware Error C0000218 1

Top