firewall

G

Sorry for all the questions about this DSL and firewall but I'm new to all of it. I had problems with Norton Firewall after I got DSl so I uninstalled it and downloaded zone alarm pro. Before I got DSL I ran a test called shields up from Gibson Research with Norton as my firewall. It passed every test, Stealthed every port and worked great. With DSL ( ADSL Broadband Router) the same test showed 3 ports stealthed and every other port said "Your computer has responded that this port exists but is currently closed to connections" I just tried the same thing with Zone Alarm Pro and get the same exact findings on the Shields up tests. I had both firewalls do the program scan and auto configure. It even got the same findings with no firewall installed, just the ADSL Router. So PLEASE can somebody tell me in a very easy to understand way (I dont know all this terminology you all use on here), What am I doing wrong. I want the same results with DSL as I had with dial up. With dial up the test results came back saying that as far as "anybody" including Gibson research was concerned my computer was never there, it couldnt be found no mater how many times they tried to get access. So far the only benifit I'm seeing with the firewall is ads are blocked and it allows you to block / hide private info.

G