excel ADODB.connection to itself ? how?

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to vba programming in excel and I saw this forum that seems to have good member information. Maybe some of you can help me with this.

I created a VBA button in Excel that creates a Word-document (report) based on data in this same excel file. I used the ADODB connection to run query's on the manual filled in user data and excel tables in order to get the report data. It is like this:

Code:
Dim cn As ADODB.Connection
Set cn = New ADODB.Connection
cn.Provider = "MSDASQL"
cn.Open "Driver={Microsoft Excel Driver (*.xls, *.xlsx, *.xlsm, *.xlsb)};" & _
	  "DBQ=" & ThisWorkbook.Path & "\" & ThisWorkbook.Name & "; ReadOnly=True;"

strQuery = "SELECT " & _
" SupplierTech.[rptTechGroup] " & _
", SupplierTech.[rptTech] " & _
", SuppliersWelcome.[rptSuppliers] " & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptCountry]  is null, 'Not named', SuppliersQual.[rptCountry]) " & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptSites]  is null, 'Not named', SuppliersQual.[rptSites]) " & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptContract]  is null, 'Not named', SuppliersQual.[rptContract] )" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptAdditional]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptAdditional])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersWelcome.[rptTechnologyCommaSep]  is null, 'No', SuppliersWelcome.[rptTechnologyCommaSep])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptDirectly]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptDirectly])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptPerson]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptPerson])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptTelephone]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptTelephone])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptEmail]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptEmail])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptWebsite]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptWebsite])" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptLocal]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptLocal]  )" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptRegional]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptRegional] )" & _
", IIF(SuppliersQual.[rptGlobal]  is null, 'No', SuppliersQual.[rptGlobal])" & _
" FROM " & _